Skip directly to content

Guzu Gallery Presents Spirit of ’77: Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Austin Books & Comics

on Wed, 08/30/2017 - 15:04

Guzu Gallery Presents
Spirit of ’77: Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of Austin Books & Comics

Opening Reception: September 1, 2017 • 7-10pm
On Display Through: October 10, 2017
Location: Guzu Gallery • 5000 N Lamar Blvd • Austin, TX

Free Admission / All Ages Welcome

Austin Books & Comics, Guzu Gallery’s favorite comic shop (and also their parent company and friendly next-door neighbors), has good reason to celebrate in 2017 — forty remarkable reasons to be exact. Central Texas’ largest and longest-running comics and pop culture retailer opened its doors in 1977, so this year they are celebrating their 40 year anniversary!

To mark the occasion, there will be a series of sales and events, including a pop culture art show event at Guzu Gallery — lasting the full forty days of Austin Books’ big 40 Day Sale.

Taking Austin Books’ birth year, 1977, as their inspiration, twenty-three talented artists will help pay tribute to the legendary comic book store via limited edition prints and original artwork. The opening reception will be on Friday, September 1st from 7 to 10pm and the artwork will remain up through October 10th. All artwork will be available for purchase. Complimentary beverages will be provided by Deschutes Brewery. All artwork will be available for purchase. As always, admission is free and all ages are welcome!

Guzu Gallery welcomes everyone to the show, but if you can’t make it out, the artwork will be available for purchase in their online store on Wednesday, September 6th around Noon CST.

Stay tuned to Guzu’s social media outlets for more info and sneak previews as the days get closer to show time!

RSVP here!
Purchase Artwork

Featured Artists
Blake Bohls
Dan Brereton
Kevin T. Chin
Ryan Davis
Alan Defibaugh
Justin DeVine
Forces of Dorkness
Matt Frank
Craig Holloway
Patrick King
Megan Lynn Kott
Katherine Kuehne
Arlo Neill
Julie Parfait
Chet Phillips
Isaak Ramos
Francisco Salinas
Bethany Sellers
Angel Sun
Morgan Thomas
Robert Zavala